Week 3 Practice: Company Questions

  1. What is the main role you would like social media to play in your company?

As the position is heavily focused on social media, I would want to know how the company views social media so that I understand what this role might be. From the answer to this question, I might better understand if the position fits me well or if it might be more of a challenge. This question can shed light on the identity, voice, and marketing style of the company. Depending on the answer, the learned information may help me know more of what the company expects the person in this role to do and decide if I consider the company a right fit for myself.

  1. What is your favorite thing about working for the company?

This question deals directly with the company’s culture and what its strengths are. Knowing the interviewer’s opinions about the company helps me determine if I believe that the culture would be beneficial or harmful. In asking this question, I would be searching for the strengths of the company and its organizational structure. Understanding the dynamic of working for the company helps me understands the benefits of the company and how its employees view the company.

  1. What is currently the biggest challenge facing the company’s press and social media?

Asking this question is crucial in understanding the current state of why the position might be needed. As a coordinator for press and social media, I would want to know what the most difficult part of the job would be. In asking this question, I would hope to learn of any complications that the company is currently having just so I am aware of what the job requires. This question would provide me with information that helps me understand the state of the company; therefore, I would be able to decide if I am up to the challenge or not.

  1. Where do you see the company in 20 years?

This question is important to my interview process as I would want to know if the company thinks about the long-term. This could ensure that I could hold the position, be promoted, and thrive within the company over a large span of time if desired. I would also hope to learn the goals and dreams that the company may have for the next 20 years. This would help me decide whether the direction of the company properly suited me.

  1. What is the next step in the process?

I find this question important as it creates a great opportunity for follow up. The question also helps me understand the company’s hiring process. I’ve been through some hiring processes that have taken one week and some that have taken six months. I would hope to learn of the next steps in the hiring process and how many other candidates there are for the position. Based on the answer, I could determine if the process met my current needs whatever they may be. From that information, I can decide whether I can wait or go through the hiring process in their manner of time.

Leave a Reply

